UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

The University Archives document the history of Black Hills State University, under its various names, from 1883 to present. For a brief history of Black Hills State University, please visit "History of BHSU."

• Dakota Territorial Normal School, 1883-1884
• Spearfish Normal School, 1885-1941
• Black Hills Teachers College, 1941-1964
• Black Hills State College, 1964-1989
• Black Hills State University, 1989-present

The University Archives contain academic and administrative records, as well as materials relating to the activities of its students, faculty, and alumni. Materials must be used in the Reading Room (Room 015). Materials are available to students, faculty, and staff, as well as the general public.

Photographs

The University Archives holds photographs from the 1880s through 2002. Many of the photos from the 1880s through the early 1970s have been digitized and are available through the Digital Library of South Dakota.

Yearbooks, Newspapers, and Other University Publications

The yearbook, known for much of its publication history as Eociha, was published from at least 1909 to 1993 and again in 2000. The archives hold copies of all years except 1919 (a yearbook was not published that year due to the flu pandemic).

The campus newspaper has been published under a variety of names and is also available in the archives.

• The Normal, 1902-1907
• Anemone, 1907-1959
• Black Hills Anemone, 1959-1974
• Black Hills Anemone Today, 1974
• Black Hills State Today, 1975-1980
• BHSC Today, 1980-1989
• Black Hills State University Today, 1989-2007
• Jacket Journal, 2008-

Other university publications are available. Some, including the yearbooks and newspapers, can be searched for in the library's online catalog. Other publications have not been cataloged; please contact Case Library or stop by the Reading Room to learn what is available.

Presidential Papers

Papers from the administrations of university presidents are held in the University Archives. To learn more about these individuals, visit "Past Presidents of BHSU."

• Cook, Fayette L. (September 1885-June 30, 1919)
• Woodburn, Ethelbert C. (July 1, 1919-June 30, 1942)
• Jonas, Russell L. (July 1, 1942-June 30, 1967)
• Freeman, Meredith N. (July 1, 1967-June 30, 1976)
• Fitzgerald, Maurice R. (July 1, 1976-August 31, 1977)
• Hause, J. Gilbert (September 1, 1977-June 30, 1985)
• Trump, Clifford M. (July 1, 1985-September 30, 1994)
• Flickema, Thomas (August 29, 1994-June 30, 2006)
• Schallenkamp, Kay (July 1, 2006-June 30, 2014) - no papers available
• Jackson, Tom, Jr. (July 1, 2014-June 30, 2019) - no papers available
• Nichols, Laurie Stenberg (July 1, 2019-December 2023) - no papers available
• Steve Elliott (December 22, 2023-    ) - no papers available

Other University-Related Collections

Records for a few student groups and other campus entities are held in the archives; please contact Case Library to learn what is available.