Contact the BHSU Librarians:
library@bhsu.edu
Return to the Library Homepage:
E.Y. Berry Library-Learning Center provides access to the more than 85,000 titles in the AVON video library. The AVON video database is organized by discipline and is also keyword searchable, providing faculty, staff and students 24/7 access to videos relevant for classroom, self-learning, and remote streaming use. Users should be prompted to enter their username (your BHSU e-mail address) and password (same as your e-mail password). AVON access link is provided on the Library's A-Z Database Directory or by using the link below.
AVON home page presents the standard search feature coupled with thumbnail access to recently added videos, popular topics, and subject browsing options. Any standard text search will retrieve videos displayed in the “Relevance” sort. Use the “Sort as” controller in the upper right corner for other options: Newest arrivals, Title, Release date (oldest first), and Release date (newest first).
Creating an account allows you to access Learning Tools. To create a new account, click on the user icon on the upper right of any AVON webpage:
Click "Sign in" then “Sign Up” on the next page. Your associated email address must be unique within the system. If you already have a user account but have forgotten your password, click the “Forgot your password?” link on the sign in page to reset it.
Note: Account creation is not necessary for viewing AVON videos. It is, however, a requirement for embedding video in online courses, creating interactions and video clips for instructional use, or sharing video links via Learning Management Software.
If you need to cite a video in a research paper or add it to a bibliography, a citation feature is built-in to AVON. On the landing page for any video, directly under the summary are three standard icons: Play, Cite, and Share.
The Cite link produces a proper, copyable, bibliographical citation for the following formats: APA-6, APA-7, Chicago-A, Chicago-B, MLA-8, and MLA-9. You can either simply copy the citation or you can export it into a bibliographic management software such as Mendeley, Zotero, BibDesk (MAC), RefWorks (ProQuest), Endnote (Clarivate) and others.
Note: Endnote is a reference management software package and .pdf organizer. BHSU faculty, staff, and students qualify for free access to the software (currently Endnote v21 – which normally retails for $275, or $150, as a student rate pricing). To learn more about Endnote, see link below.
The Share link will allow you to share or embed the video in a learning management system or on a website. Please note that these links only allow access to BHSU students, staff, and faculty.
The AVON video library includes searchable text transcripts, useful for quotation/citation work as well as making the work fully accessible.
Turn on the transcript by clicking on the word "Transcript" at the top center of screen.
Search the transcript either by using the search box at the top of the transcript (if it is open) or by clicking in the "Search Transcript" box in the lower right of the screen (above the CC closed caption icon). Note: these links do not display until video play has been initiated.
There are added accessibility features for the transcripts. With the transcript turned on, use the settings icon for the transcript, which provides control of fonts, font sizes, and contrast settings. To the right of settings controller is a basic language translator, applicable for select AVON content.
Is classroom viewing allowed? YES
Are there any multiple-user (concurrent-viewing) restrictions? NO
Are limited public performance rights in place? YES (for all video content, except Film Platform titles, but only as long as no admission fee is charged)
Use the Menu icon 
on the upper left corner of any Avon screen to see video channels and collections. This includes a listing of “Popular Channels.” For a complete channel list, click on “All channels,” which will give you browsable lists by topic or genre.
Note: AVON is the Library’s primary collection; as of fall semester, 2024, the only other collection is Nursing Education in Video – 2nd Edition. This collection will no longer be supported by AVON after the end of calendar year 2024.
Direct links to AVON Subject Collections (Channels):