Return to the Library Homepage:
The library's main book collection is located on second floor.
Periodicals and Curriculum books must be requested at the Library Information Desk. Current issues of popular magazines and journals can be found in the magazine rack on first floor.
All books, journals, and other publications can be found via the Library Catalog.
Reference books are shelved on the second floor of the library. They are not available for check-out, but can be used in the library.
All reference books can be found via the Library Catalog.
DVDs and other media are available for check-out. Media cases are shelved on the second floor of the library, but you must go to the Library Information Desk to obtain the discs and check them out.
All media can be found via the Library Catalog. There is also a printed list of DVDs available at the Library Information Desk.
E-Books: Available through the Library Catalog.
E-Journals: Available through the Library Catalog via the Journal Search.
Databases: Browse our Database List.
Digital Collections: See digitized items from BHSU's Archives in the Digital Library of South Dakota.
The Leland D. Case Library for Western Historical Studies is a special collection of books, periodicals, maps, audio recordings, video recordings, and archival materials. Case Library specializes in the history and culture of the Black Hills Region, and of South Dakota, the northern Great Plains, and the West more generally. Holdings relate to topics including Native American studies, frontier military history, pioneer history, the Black Hills National Forest, local area clubs & organizations, and late 19th century through early 20th century area photography.
The University Archives contain academic and administrative records, as well as materials relating to the activities of its students, faculty, and alumni. Materials include photographs, yearbooks, student newspapers, annual catalogs, theses, publications, reports, and other records.
Items in Case Library must be used in the Reading Room (Room 015). Materials are available to students, faculty, and staff, as well as the general public.
Published materials in Case Library can be found by searching the library catalog. To browse or search archival collections, visit our Archival Finding Aids page. Materials from selected collections have been digitized and are available through the Digital Library of South Dakota.